Saturday, April 14, 2018

Collisions (naval combat)

If a ship moves into a hex already occupied by another ship, including a hex that is occupied by a ship's forward mast (which can extend into the hex ahead of the bow in many sailing ships), then a collision has occurred.

After the collision has been resolved, only one ship can actually remain in the collision hex. If any part of one ship is in the hex at the same point in movement when one or more other ships attempt to enter that hex, the ship that already occupies the hex will be the one that remains. The striking ship (s) will be considered to occupy the last hex they possessed before the collision took place.

When a collision occurs, the rigging of the involved ships may become fouled (die rules to be given later).
This includes when the hex is occupied only by the foremasts of two or more ships.

All movement in this round ends once a collision has taken place, regardless of the speed of either ship. Ships that have collided will drift during their next movement.

(this is a placeholder for further rules regarding collisions)

See Also,
Movement in Naval Combat
Naval Warfare

No comments:

Post a Comment

Comments are welcome; however, the content on this blog is not purposed for critical evaluation. Comments are strictly limited to errors in text, need for clarification, suggested additions, link fails and other technical errors, personal accounts of how the rule as written applied in their campaign and useful suggestions for other rules pages.

All other comments will be deleted.