Thursday, August 16, 2018

Melf's Arrow (spell)

Range: 60 ft.
Duration: 1 round
Area of Effect: 1 creature
Casting Time: 1 round
Saving Throw: negates
Level: mage (2nd)

Conjures a magical arrow that materializes between the caster and the target before striking a creature and causing damage.  The arrow requires the caster to aim, so that a roll to hit must be made; however, the arrow only needs to hit AC 10, regardless of the creature's armor class.  The caster receives a +1 bonus to the die roll.

If the arrow misses, it is not lost, but may turn and attempt another strike the following round, if the caster continues to concentrate on the arrow.  In fact, the caster may make as many attempts to hit with the arrow as necessary, so long as the caster's concentration is not broken.  However, the caster may not attempt an alternative target after the first attempt.  If, for whatever reason, the initial target escapes and cannot be seen, or if the target is dead and there is no reason to use the arrow, then the magic will be broken and the arrow will evaporate.

The damage caused by the arrow on a hit will be 4-13 (3d4+1). 

Upon reaching 6th level, the caster will gain the ability to create and concentrate upon two Melf's Arrows, which may be fired at multiple targets if the caster chooses.  An additional arrow is then gained for every three levels above 6th: three arrows at 9th level, four arrows at 12th level, etcetera.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Comments are welcome; however, the content on this blog is not purposed for critical evaluation. Comments are strictly limited to errors in text, need for clarification, suggested additions, link fails and other technical errors, personal accounts of how the rule as written applied in their campaign and useful suggestions for other rules pages.

All other comments will be deleted.